Chaotic Backup Forum

Show your support. Boost our moral. Don't just browse, log in.

King's Royal Chaotic Backup


    Akmour Question Thread

    Share
    avatar
    Akmour
    Common

    Chaotic Username : Akmour
    Chaotic Coins : 22

    Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Akmour on Tue May 03, 2016 11:09 pm

    Quick Question about Tune of Xerium

    When this mugic is used, does the battlegear returning from the discard pile come back face-up or face-down. Thank you!!
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 940
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Tue May 03, 2016 11:26 pm

    the gear returns face up because all cards in the discard pile are face up and the mugic doesn't say to flip it back down again


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?
    avatar
    Akmour
    Common

    Chaotic Username : Akmour
    Chaotic Coins : 22

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Akmour on Wed May 04, 2016 11:01 am

    Thanks for the quick reply, I also have another question about the song of shelter.
    1) If a song of shelter is played after a targeting mugic (Ex: Canon of Casualty), since it resolves in reverse order, the target of the mugic is no longer valid, what happens to that mugic (does it get discarded and are costs still payed)
    2) If that happens, and I have appelai on my team and the target was a warbeast, since the target is no longer valid after the burst do I no longer receive a mugic on Appelai, or because he originally targeted my warbeast do I still get a mugic counter.

    Thanks for the help!
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 940
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Wed May 04, 2016 12:05 pm

    here's how it goes down

    1. your opponent plays canon they select a target, in this case your warbeast
    2. your opponent pays any costs for the mugic and then it is placed onto the burst (1mc in this case)
    3. now that your warbeast has been targeted appalei triggers and his effect is also added to the burst
    4. you cast song of shelter target your warbeast and pay its cost which goes on the burst last.
    5. when song of shelter resolves it checks if the warbeast is a legal target still (I think you see where this is going) assuming he is he is now untargetable.
    6. appalei's effect resolves and he gets a mugic
    7. canon resolves and checks if the warbeast is a legal target which since it's untragetable it is not. the mugic then has no effects and is placed into the discard like normal.

    in short mugics check when they resolve if there targets are still legal and if they're not the mugic will have no effects.

    appaleis abilty triggers when a warbeast is targeted which is done when a mugic is first played once appalei's effect is on the burst it is treated as its own thing and anything done to the mugic does not effect the abitly and vice versa.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?
    avatar
    Akmour
    Common

    Chaotic Username : Akmour
    Chaotic Coins : 22

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Akmour on Wed May 04, 2016 12:19 pm

    Thanks so much, i'll be sure to come here if I have anymore questions.

    Thanks!
    avatar
    Akmour
    Common

    Chaotic Username : Akmour
    Chaotic Coins : 22

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Akmour on Wed May 04, 2016 2:53 pm

    Sorry for all the questions but I don't have many people to ask about this stuff. Shards be used on minions if they are not brainwashed, i.e. will they get the element or not. Basically is the creature a considered a minion only if he brainwashed are at all times as long as he has minion in the name.

    Thanks
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 940
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Wed May 04, 2016 3:00 pm

    minions are still minions for all effects that care even when not brainwashed. and feel free to keep asking it makes me feel smart lol


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?
    avatar
    Akmour
    Common

    Chaotic Username : Akmour
    Chaotic Coins : 22

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Akmour on Thu May 05, 2016 2:31 pm

    Hello again,

    Question about outperform and i'l use power as an example:
    1) Would the stat check on dry liquid(opposing creature loses 15 power) deal 5 damage as well? Same question for web cocoon's stat check?
    2) Does force strike and prowl strike get 5 damage added on each of the 3 challenges/checks or at the end just add 5.

    Another question,

    Does the mugic or ability in a burst have to actually have an effect relevant to the mugic played prior? This stems from the roar of the mob mugic. So if I would use this mugic to deal damage to lets say lystone, can she for no other reason then to remove mugic counters, play her discipline ability? Or will they be considered separate actions.

    Thanks again!
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 940
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Thu May 05, 2016 3:40 pm

    alright first ones easy an attack either is a successful discipline attack or its not all you have to do is pass 1 challange, check or fail of that discipline to make it a successful attack of that discipline. Once it is outpreform adds however many damage ONLY ONCE. So it doesn't matter if you pass 1 check or 100, outpreform 5 is gonna only add 5. however if you have outpreform in 2 disciplines, like with aivenna having outpreform courage 5 and wisdom 5 and you play say directed bravery and pass both the courage and wisdom on it each disciplines outpreform gets added ONCE for a total of 10.

    edit: missed the web coccon part, if you pass a check or challange or fail on an attack you get that disciplines outpreform even if the check doesn't do any damage. (kinda like how you get fire 5 with an attack like flamebloom)

    secound one I'm think I get what your saying roar of the mob says it checks the number of counters when it resolves. if your opponent uses those counter to pay of a mugic or abilty in response since paying the mugic is the cost for playing the effect they are removed when the effect is played. the effect goes onto the burst. when the burst resolve the effect goes first and does like giving 30 to all disciplines or whatever. then roar of the mob resolves next and checks the number of counters on lystone now that shes lost some.

    the whole "seperate action" thing confuses me yes lystone's ability is a seprate effect from the mugic but that doesn't mean you can't activate it in response and put it onto the same burst...


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?
    avatar
    Akmour
    Common

    Chaotic Username : Akmour
    Chaotic Coins : 22

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Akmour on Thu May 05, 2016 4:58 pm

    Thanks, Sorry for the confusion on the last one. A couple more things.

    How does damage outside of combat work. Using the last example. If Lystone was not in combat, when does the damage, if not lethal, wear off (ie i flipped my location and then before engaging someone other than Lystone, I attack her with a damage mugic.

    Also, can you clarify what "target opponent" means for Windslash attack. I assume it means the other player, but the "target" implies I have a choice.

    Thanks again and I really appreciate it.
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 940
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Thu May 05, 2016 5:19 pm

    any damage on creatures is removed at the end of a players turn if you did damage to any creature in or out of combat that wasn't leathal that damage is removed. then end of turn is not the same at the end of combat so you can do damage before anyone starts a combat, durning combat, or after combat before the turn is over and it all adds up toward killing the creature. there are even cards like dread tread that make more than one combat per turn. with these the damage can even add up over mulitple battles as long as the turn hasn't ended.

    "target opponent" is sort of a plan for the future sort of wording. if other cards had been released it may have been possible to make yourself untargetable or to get an effect when you are targeted by mugic, who knows. For now, I can't think of any effect that target opponent would matter it's just sorta there.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?
    avatar
    Akmour
    Common

    Chaotic Username : Akmour
    Chaotic Coins : 22

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Akmour on Fri May 06, 2016 3:11 pm

    This might be a dumb question, but does Kreaal's ability also affect him, or just other creatures I control?
    avatar
    Marrillian
    Marrillian

    Chaotic Username : KingMaxor4
    Chaotic Coins : 2356
    Location : where the steak is

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Marrillian on Fri May 06, 2016 3:25 pm

    Yes, because it didn't explicitly say "other".


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Founder and leader of Marrillian Reign. Marrillian
    Supporter of Maxxor Ruler of Perim


    Light vi Britannia - 
    "This is what happens when I take an anime personality quiz..."
    avatar
    Akmour
    Common

    Chaotic Username : Akmour
    Chaotic Coins : 22

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Akmour on Sat May 07, 2016 12:19 am

    Can multiple abilities trigger off one sacrifice? Ex: sacrifice aqua shield to get the 15 energy which also triggers fire and fire 5 from Slufurah's ability.

    Thanks!
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 940
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Sat May 07, 2016 11:05 am

    nope, sacrificing is a cost of the abiltys and so sacrificing the shield can only pay for 1 of the effects3. its like if 2 effects wanted you to pay a mugic counter you couldn't use the same counter to pay for both.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?
    avatar
    Akmour
    Common

    Chaotic Username : Akmour
    Chaotic Coins : 22

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Akmour on Sat May 07, 2016 9:53 pm

    If it doesn't say "until the end of the turn", how long does hive and infection last?
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 940
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Sat May 07, 2016 11:58 pm

    hive is deactivated at the end of turn unless something says not to.

    infection however and other effects that are tracked by counters (such as kiru) do not go away at the end of turn and last until the card with the token is discarded or until an effect removes them (like being uninfected).


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?
    avatar
    Akmour
    Common

    Chaotic Username : Akmour
    Chaotic Coins : 22

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Akmour on Sat May 14, 2016 12:03 am

    Been a while since I had a question, but if someone plays a card to destroy your battlegear, are you able to sacrifice it first, since if it is a burst it goes in reverse order with the sacrifice going first?

    Thanks!
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 940
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Sat May 14, 2016 12:12 am

    sacrficing a cost for play an effect and as mentioned before costs are all payed when an effect is played so it doesn't matter if you sac the gear before or after they play the mugic, sacing will place it in the discard and will render the destroy effect (or a flip effect) useless. so that's a pretty big upside for sacrifice gear.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?
    avatar
    Akmour
    Common

    Chaotic Username : Akmour
    Chaotic Coins : 22

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Akmour on Sun May 15, 2016 11:11 pm

    First off, I love the fact the thread was changed to "Akmour's question thread", second, I was wondering if you can use armament adagio on a creature with a battlegear and switch it with a creature that does not have a battlegear, essentially giving a creature with no battlegear, a battlegear.

    Thanks! I hope these questions aren't annoying you guys!
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 940
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Mon May 16, 2016 1:24 am

    I think marrillian did that lol. your questions aren't annoying at all, asking questions is how you learn and maybe someone else will find this useful as well.

    the parts your gonna want to focus on is
    1. the fact that it targets 2 creatures and not 2 gear.
    2. the fact that is says to swap "any" gear equipped to those creatures

    so the mugic doesn't really care what or how many gear is on the creature. all gear on 1 creature goes to the other and vice versa if one has no gear it will just get the gear from the other creature and give nothing in return . so yes feel free to choose guys with no gear equipped.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?
    avatar
    Marrillian
    Marrillian

    Chaotic Username : KingMaxor4
    Chaotic Coins : 2356
    Location : where the steak is

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Marrillian on Tue May 17, 2016 2:46 pm

    Yeah I did in fact rename it. Cause for reference this is easier (on me lol). I kept getting trolled by the title since the topic at hand had changed from a single question.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Founder and leader of Marrillian Reign. Marrillian
    Supporter of Maxxor Ruler of Perim


    Light vi Britannia - 
    "This is what happens when I take an anime personality quiz..."
    avatar
    El Yahpo
    newb

    Chaotic Username : El Yahpo
    Chaotic Coins : 2

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by El Yahpo on Wed Jun 15, 2016 7:04 am

    According to the comprehensive rules there is a burst after each movement, but is there a burst between the end of a movement and the beginning of combat? I ask because the rules state "resolution of a move action" causes a burst, and that combat happens if a move ends in an enemy square.

    I interpret this to mean that there is a burst, since combat is only checked once a movement is ended, but it is unclear. Does anyone know definitively?
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 940
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Wed Jun 15, 2016 11:19 am

    uuugh I was typing a reply that was really long and my internet died and now I have to start all over.

    good question for those who aren't aware the rules he refers to are

    6.3.2. 
    After a move action resolves, the active player receives priority to play Mugic or abilities.  The next creature cannot move until both players pass on an empty burst.  (See 8.2)  
    6.3.3. 
    A Creature moves by entering an adjacent space on the Battleboard.  Each Creature’s move must be fully completed prior to the next Creature’s move.  No player receives priority during a move action.     
    6.3.4. 
    If a Creature ends its move in a space occupied by an opposing Creature, a Combat is initiated (see section 7.0).  The battle is considered to be taking place in the space on the Battleboard where both Creatures now are.  The Creature that wins this battle remains on the Battleboard in that space. 

    the obvious question then being when the move is done do we have a after move but precombat burst, or just go straight to combat? well despite what the words may hint at I you're going straight to combat. here's why combat is a state of being and while it IS triggered by creatures ending there move on the same space it is NOT a triggered ability it doesn't use the burst it merely happens when that action happens and does its thing before any priority and that means all the beginning of combat stuff you've heard about inculding the infamous zamool who is a good reason that this matters.

    but I would merely use speculation alone I have some other rule quotes to back me up. These are from the sections on defending. 
    6.3.4.1.1. 
    Creatures with the Defender ability may be used to intercept a moving Creature by taking the place of the Creature whose space was entered.  If a Creature with Defender is adjacent to the space in which a battle is to take place that Creature may intercept the move by switching places with the Creature currently occupying that space.  This is an optional ability and a player may choose not to intercept a move.

    Oh, so it seems that when defending happens the creature is still considered moving not at the end of its move, well that makes perfect sense since you would want to defend before the end of the move and combat. oh but what's this
    6.3.4.1.6. 
    A Creature that exchanges positions as the result of the use of Defender is treated as having entered a space on the Battleboard for the purposes of any abilities that trigger when a Creature enters a space.  These abilities are generated at the same time as any events which are triggered upon interception and are placed on the same Burst. 

    Seems that triggered effects from defender go on the beginning of combat burst implying that it is the first burst available not some after move burst. hmm if only there was some rule that made it even more clear...
    6.3.4.1.7. 
    Once interception has taken place the game continues with the Combat Step.  

    oooh so it seems you go straight from the move still going on and therefore not resolved right to combat that backs me up nicely. I think that should make things pretty clear. The "after move is resolved" take the form of a  burst at the end of combat before the active player gets to move the rest of their creatures.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?

    Sponsored content

    Re: Akmour Question Thread

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Fri Oct 20, 2017 2:10 am