Chaotic Backup Forum

Show your support. Boost our moral. Don't just browse, log in.

King's Royal Chaotic Backup


    Fluid Fugue - Mugic Ruling

    Share
    avatar
    LeGladiateur
    Rare

    Chaotic Username : LeGladiateur
    Chaotic Coins : 128
    Location : Québec, Canada

    Fluid Fugue - Mugic Ruling

    Post by LeGladiateur on Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:31 pm

    Hello,

    I was wondering who gain the mugician when you play the Overworld Mugic "Fluid Fugue". The caster or the targeted creature ?

    Card text :

    « Heal 25 damage to target creature. If the caster of this mugic has water, that creature gains mugic. »

    I always maintain that the caster was the one gaining the Mugician since it,s in the same sentence as the caster and it does not specify the targeted creature.

    I am supporting my argument by the comprehensive rules, section 8.5.2
    « [...] Any instruction which references a Creature that is not
    associated with a specified target (for example “this Creature”) refers to the Creature which
    played the Mugic or ability.»

    Thanks
    avatar
    Marrillian
    Marrillian

    Chaotic Username : KingMaxor4
    Chaotic Coins : 2393
    Location : where the steak is

    Re: Fluid Fugue - Mugic Ruling

    Post by Marrillian on Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:51 am

    Since you've did the work and found the section in the comprehensive rules, you're right haha

    If the intent were for the target creature it should have said "the target creature gains Generic MC "


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Founder and leader of Marrillian Reign. Marrillian
    Supporter of Maxxor Ruler of Perim


    Light vi Britannia - 
    "This is what happens when I take an anime personality quiz..."
    avatar
    LeGladiateur
    Rare

    Chaotic Username : LeGladiateur
    Chaotic Coins : 128
    Location : Québec, Canada

    Re: Fluid Fugue - Mugic Ruling

    Post by LeGladiateur on Thu Apr 13, 2017 11:09 am

    Well, thanks Tongue
    That's what I was thinking, I just wanted another opinion.
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 994
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Fluid Fugue - Mugic Ruling

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Thu Apr 13, 2017 11:26 am

    here's where your not quite right, the mugic does have poor wording but the "that creature" does refer to the target not the caster.

    the quote your using is for if no creature is specified on the mugic at all but since the mugic does specify a target that target is what is referred to with "that creature"
    the quote your referring to is for mugic and abilites with no clear target for example if you wanted to you could reword battlesong of renewal as "this creature heals 25 damage" just like the original wording of song of resistance but you could NOT just write "that creature heals 25 damage"  because "that" is used to cover an already specified target.

    for your example m'arrillian this is how you would word a mugic that intedend to give he caster another mugic
    "if the caster has caster this mugic cost  Generic MC instead" or "if the caster has water it gains  Generic MC"

    this card is just like another card in the cycle sonata of storms the target gains all the effects. its more clear on that card since the target would probably want both effects.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?
    avatar
    LeGladiateur
    Rare

    Chaotic Username : LeGladiateur
    Chaotic Coins : 128
    Location : Québec, Canada

    Re: Fluid Fugue - Mugic Ruling

    Post by LeGladiateur on Thu Apr 13, 2017 12:49 pm

    After another complete revision. I tried to make some comparisons with the other cards from the same set.

    By looking at Sonata of Storms, a Mipediam Mugic with cost 2, it says :

    «Target Creature gains "Range" and "Swift 3." If the caster of this Mugic has Air, that Creature also gains "Invisibility: Surprise."»

    There is also anothr Mugic that cost 2 mugicians from the danian tribe Rocky Refrain:

    «Target engaged Creature gains 5 Energy for each Elemental Type the opposing engaged Creature has. If the caster of this Mugic has Earth, the target Creature gains an additional 5 Energy for each Elemental Type the opposing engaged Creature has.»

    Consuming Cacophony was the other Mugic but from the Underworld tribe that deals 30 damage if the caster has fire.

    By these comparisons and the fact that the mugic has a target. Thanks to Chidosin, I'm pretty confident to say that I was wrong indeed, but that the creature gaining the Mugic is the targeted creature.

    Thanks again Chiodosin, you made me do some more homeworks Tongue

    avatar
    Marrillian
    Marrillian

    Chaotic Username : KingMaxor4
    Chaotic Coins : 2393
    Location : where the steak is

    Re: Fluid Fugue - Mugic Ruling

    Post by Marrillian on Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:25 pm

    That's interesting. I always played it with the caster gaining the mc oops haha
    Thanks Chiodosin


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Founder and leader of Marrillian Reign. Marrillian
    Supporter of Maxxor Ruler of Perim


    Light vi Britannia - 
    "This is what happens when I take an anime personality quiz..."

    Sponsored content

    Re: Fluid Fugue - Mugic Ruling

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Mon Dec 18, 2017 9:46 am