Chaotic Backup Forum

Show your support. Boost our moral. Don't just browse, log in.

King's Royal Chaotic Backup


    The Aich King, Thar'lyn Expend

    Share
    avatar
    Marrillian
    Marrillian

    Chaotic Username : KingMaxor4
    Chaotic Coins : 2530

    The Aich King, Thar'lyn Expend

    Post by Marrillian on Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:32 pm

    So Thar'lyn can only expand when engaged. How does timing work on this?

    -> Beginning of Combat
    -> The Aich King
    -> Thar'lyn Engaged

    or
    -> Beginning of Combat
    -> Thar'lyn Engaged
    -> Thar'lyn Expends
    -> The Aich King

    On the same note, what about Battlegear that give expend?

    -> Beginning of Combat
    -> Battlegear flipped
    -> Expend Element
    -> The Aich King
    avatar
    Marrillian
    Marrillian

    Chaotic Username : KingMaxor4
    Chaotic Coins : 2530

    Re: The Aich King, Thar'lyn Expend

    Post by Marrillian on Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:01 pm

    @Chiodosin1 wrote:triggered ability may read “When/Whenever/At [trigger event], if [condition], [effect].” When the trigger event occurs, the ability checks whether the stated condition is true. The ability triggers only if it is; otherwise it does nothing. If the ability triggers, it checks the stated condition again as it resolves. If the condition isn’t true at that time, the ability is removed from the stack and does nothing. Note that this mirrors the check for legal targets. This rule is referred to as the “intervening ‘if’ clause” rule. (The word “if” has only its normal English meaning anywhere else in the text of a card; this rule only applies to an “if” that immediately follows a trigger condition.)
    short answer is you have to expend before combat starts so no dice

    @Oracle Afjak wrote:
    If the question is "Can I make Vlar unequipped when combat has started", then the answer is no.
    Triggered abilities like Vlar that use an "if x criteria is met" after the "When", that criteria needs to be true in order for the ability to trigger and when it resolves.
    So at the beginning of combat, if he is not unequipped, you steal nothing.
    If he's unequipped at the beginning of combat, but then gains a battlegear before his ability resolves, he gains nothing else.
    Actual rules reason for that:

    Break apart the anatomy of most triggered abilities. "When X event happens, Y effect is placed onto the Burst." Take a look at Aerodrone. Once the creature deals air damage, you ignore the "When" because that's done and over with--the effect "You may look at the top four cards of your Attack Deck and put them back on top in any order" is what's on the Burst.

    Now take a look at triggered abilities that have an intervening "If" clause. "When X event happens, if Z criteria is met, Y effect is placed onto the Burst." Now look at Ikkatosh, the Aich King. "At the beginning of combat" is the "When", so we ignore that. Pay attention to the criteria plus effect--"If your engaged creature has no elemental types, it gains 20 energy." The criteria has to be true at the start for it to trigger. WHen it goes to resolve it has to be true then too, or the ability is negated.
    The same is true for Vlar.

      Current date/time is Sat Nov 17, 2018 12:27 pm