Chaotic Backup Forum

Members Log In. Show your support. Boost our moral. Don't just browse, log in.

King's Royal Chaotic Backup


    Question about Gintanai

    Share
    avatar
    Doublea
    Rare

    Chaotic Username : Doublea
    Chaotic Coins : 274

    Question about Gintanai

    Post by Doublea on Sat Aug 30, 2014 7:12 pm

    As we all know once Gintanai wins combat you have to sacrifice a creature. I'm wondering that if you have a creature that has a sacrifice ability are you able to use that creature as a sacrifice and play it's ability?

    Also this could be applied to gear as well. If you have to sacrifice a gear and the one you have has a sac ability can you combine them?
    avatar
    BlzvSprayTan
    Mipedian

    Chaotic Username : BlzvSprayTan
    Chaotic Coins : 1002
    Location : East Coast

    Re: Question about Gintanai

    Post by BlzvSprayTan on Sat Aug 30, 2014 7:45 pm

    No you cannot. I do not remember if the sacrifice happens immediately in the burst, or if the creature is counted as sacrificed when the ability enters the burst; either way you cannot stack the ability.

    Blitser can inform you better on the technicalities.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====

    Every Beast has a purple lining.

    ~Tan
    avatar
    Blitser
    Marrillian

    Chaotic Username : Blitser
    Chaotic Coins : 420
    Location : Running a server somewhere.

    Re: Question about Gintanai

    Post by Blitser on Sat Aug 30, 2014 8:28 pm

    In the short, Blaz is right. You can't gain the benefit of a sacrifice ability with Gintanai's ability.

    Think of the burst for this situation. Gintanai starts one off at the end of combat and immediately makes you choose a creature to sacrifice. Costs for abilities added to a burst are taken before the burst resolves, so before you even get the option to sacrifice that creature with its own ability it'll be removed from the board.

    This is now just hypothetical, but say the cost was paid when each card in the burst resolved. Gintanai would be added first, then you'd add the desired sacrificial creature through its ability. Since the burst resolves in reverse the creature you're sacrificing would have its ability resolve, then Gintanai would have nothing to pay the cost of its own ability. Since the cost to keep him on the board was not paid Gintanai would then be destroyed.

    ----------

    Edit: If an ability passively activates when a creature is destroyed or sacrificed it will work. It just can't be an activated ability.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Blitser
    Grand Master of the Grapefruit Brigade

    • Here for a visit? Come say hi to everyone in this topic!
    • Got a question that you want answered? The forum staff are here for any and all Chaotic inquiries!
    • Do you have an idea to help improve upon the forums? Share it here!
    • Interested in a Chaotic TeamSpeak? Post here!
    avatar
    Doublea
    Rare

    Chaotic Username : Doublea
    Chaotic Coins : 274

    Re: Question about Gintanai

    Post by Doublea on Sat Aug 30, 2014 11:41 pm

    Are there any creatures with those kinds of passive abilities?
    avatar
    BlzvSprayTan
    Mipedian

    Chaotic Username : BlzvSprayTan
    Chaotic Coins : 1002
    Location : East Coast

    Re: Question about Gintanai

    Post by BlzvSprayTan on Sun Aug 31, 2014 1:07 am

    He's talking about something like Illexia, Lore AC, or Enre-hep that gain MCs when a creature is destroyed.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====

    Every Beast has a purple lining.

    ~Tan

    Sponsored content

    Re: Question about Gintanai

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Sat Jul 22, 2017 9:39 am