Chaotic Backup Forum

Members Log In. Show your support. Boost our moral. Don't just browse, log in.

King's Royal Chaotic Backup


    Mugic Ability

    Share
    avatar
    cromax123456
    Super Rare

    Chaotic Username : cromax123456
    Chaotic Coins : 401

    Mugic Ability

    Post by cromax123456 on Sun Aug 31, 2014 9:26 pm

    In the location The Training Grounds, the initiative and an ability rely on Mugic Ability, I just want to know what it is, is it talking about activated abilities with a mugician cost or something else?
    avatar
    Blitser
    Marrillian

    Chaotic Username : Blitser
    Chaotic Coins : 422
    Location : Running a server somewhere.

    Re: Mugic Ability

    Post by Blitser on Sun Aug 31, 2014 10:09 pm

    The Training Grounds is a rather poorly worded card. Surprisingly it doesn't even have an errata though.

    Initiative goes to the creature with the highest number of printed mugic counters, and the creature which wins combat gains counters equal to its printed number.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Blitser
    Grand Master of the Grapefruit Brigade

    • Here for a visit? Come say hi to everyone in this topic!
    • Got a question that you want answered? The forum staff are here for any and all Chaotic inquiries!
    • Do you have an idea to help improve upon the forums? Share it here!
    • Interested in a Chaotic TeamSpeak? Post here!
    avatar
    cromax123456
    Super Rare

    Chaotic Username : cromax123456
    Chaotic Coins : 401

    Re: Mugic Ability

    Post by cromax123456 on Sun Aug 31, 2014 10:21 pm

    why not use the term Mugic Counters rather than Mugic Ability? it would make so much more sense
    avatar
    Blitser
    Marrillian

    Chaotic Username : Blitser
    Chaotic Coins : 422
    Location : Running a server somewhere.

    Re: Mugic Ability

    Post by Blitser on Sun Aug 31, 2014 10:23 pm

    Like I said, poorly worded.

    It's possible that the card is referring to activated abilities with a cost of mugic counters, but I wouldn't jump to that before counters themselves.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Blitser
    Grand Master of the Grapefruit Brigade

    • Here for a visit? Come say hi to everyone in this topic!
    • Got a question that you want answered? The forum staff are here for any and all Chaotic inquiries!
    • Do you have an idea to help improve upon the forums? Share it here!
    • Interested in a Chaotic TeamSpeak? Post here!
    avatar
    Doublea
    Rare

    Chaotic Username : Doublea
    Chaotic Coins : 271

    Re: Mugic Ability

    Post by Doublea on Sun Aug 31, 2014 10:24 pm

    Maybe it means scanned counters? Not by amount of mugic counters on engaged creatures?
    avatar
    Terabyte
    Super Rare

    Chaotic Username : Terabyte
    Chaotic Coins : 326

    Re: Mugic Ability

    Post by Terabyte on Sun Aug 31, 2014 10:29 pm

    I don't think the problem is that it's poorly worded so much that it's just that the term Mugic Ability wasn't properly defined. If it said Scanned Mugic Counters, it'd likely be easier to comprehend though.

    Also, might be an interesting card to be used with Dead Tread and someone with a powerful Mugic ability that could use a recharge after a combat.
    avatar
    cromax123456
    Super Rare

    Chaotic Username : cromax123456
    Chaotic Coins : 401

    Re: Mugic Ability

    Post by cromax123456 on Sun Aug 31, 2014 10:38 pm

    It seems quite hard to win 2 combats in one turn, especially for uw creatures with mugic counters since most of them have recklessness or not enough energy
    avatar
    Blitser
    Marrillian

    Chaotic Username : Blitser
    Chaotic Coins : 422
    Location : Running a server somewhere.

    Re: Mugic Ability

    Post by Blitser on Sun Aug 31, 2014 10:40 pm

    Astrum Somnus wrote:Initiative goes to the creature with the highest number of printed mugic counters.

    @Doublea wrote:Maybe it means scanned counters? Not by amount of mugic counters on engaged creatures?

    Is that not what I said? Tongue

    And yes, it's a very interesting location for all that I've never seen anyone use it. Regaining counters after combat means you can go all out with the abilities of your engaged creature.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Blitser
    Grand Master of the Grapefruit Brigade

    • Here for a visit? Come say hi to everyone in this topic!
    • Got a question that you want answered? The forum staff are here for any and all Chaotic inquiries!
    • Do you have an idea to help improve upon the forums? Share it here!
    • Interested in a Chaotic TeamSpeak? Post here!
    avatar
    Doublea
    Rare

    Chaotic Username : Doublea
    Chaotic Coins : 271

    Re: Mugic Ability

    Post by Doublea on Sun Aug 31, 2014 10:53 pm

    haha sorry, I thought you had just said mugic counters. Great minds think a like then!
    avatar
    BlzvSprayTan
    Mipedian

    Chaotic Username : BlzvSprayTan
    Chaotic Coins : 999
    Location : East Coast

    Re: Mugic Ability

    Post by BlzvSprayTan on Mon Sep 01, 2014 1:15 am

    Mugic Ability is the name for scanned Mugic Counters(I know that it's been said but I want to reaffirm that IS the official name for it). If it stated Mugic Counters instead, then it would be looking for the Mugic Counters at the time rather than the scanned value of Mugic Counters on the side.

    It makes sense actually because the creature, by itself, has the ability to use that many mugics.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====

    Every Beast has a purple lining.

    ~Tan
    avatar
    cromax123456
    Super Rare

    Chaotic Username : cromax123456
    Chaotic Coins : 401

    Re: Mugic Ability

    Post by cromax123456 on Mon Sep 01, 2014 7:02 pm

    that would seem to make sense, it'd be nice to have it in the rule book's glossary though
    avatar
    Blitser
    Marrillian

    Chaotic Username : Blitser
    Chaotic Coins : 422
    Location : Running a server somewhere.

    Re: Mugic Ability

    Post by Blitser on Mon Sep 01, 2014 7:20 pm

    @BlzvSprayTan wrote:Mugic Ability is the name for scanned Mugic Counters(I know that it's been said but I want to reaffirm that IS the official name for it). If it stated Mugic Counters instead, then it would be looking for the Mugic Counters at the time rather than the scanned value of Mugic Counters on the side.

    It makes sense actually because the creature, by itself, has the ability to use that many mugics.

    This is why I was saying I think it's more logical to assume scanned mugic counters, even though if taken literally it would refer to activated abilities with a cost of counters.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Blitser
    Grand Master of the Grapefruit Brigade

    • Here for a visit? Come say hi to everyone in this topic!
    • Got a question that you want answered? The forum staff are here for any and all Chaotic inquiries!
    • Do you have an idea to help improve upon the forums? Share it here!
    • Interested in a Chaotic TeamSpeak? Post here!

    Sponsored content

    Re: Mugic Ability

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Mon Aug 21, 2017 9:09 am