Chaotic Backup Forum

Members Log In. Show your support. Boost our moral. Don't just browse, log in.

King's Royal Chaotic Backup


    Common Rule Questions

    Share
    avatar
    Marrillian
    Marrillian

    Chaotic Username : KingMaxor4
    Chaotic Coins : 2342
    Location : where the steak is

    Common Rule Questions

    Post by Marrillian on Tue Apr 14, 2015 10:05 am

    Note: Order of stats is Courage, Power, Wisdom, Speed, Energy
    Example - OG Maxxor: 110 75 90 60 65

    How do challenge, stat check, and stat fail work?:

    challenge compares the stat on your engaged creature with the stat on the opposing engaged creature.
    Example:
    Maxxor: 110 75 90 60 65 and Chaor 95 100 80 70 75
    Maxxor plays Shadow Strike [Challenge courage 15] and deals 10 damage to Chaor.

    A stat check compares the stat on your engaged creature with the number on the attack card.
    Example:
    Maxxor: 110 75 90 60 65
    Fearless Strike: Stat Check [Courage] Courage 60: Deal 10 damage. Stat Check [Power] Power 60: Deal 10 damage.
    Maxxor would deal 10 for each check.

    A stat fail checks to see if the opposing engaged creature's stat is lower than the value on the attack card.
    Example:
    Play Deceleration (Stat Fail [Speed] Speed 100: Deal 5 damage.
    Stat Fail [Speed] Speed 50: Deal 10 damage.
    Stat Fail [Speed] Speed 5: Deal 15 damage.)

    against an opposing Afjak (90 50 75 40 35) would deal 15 damage.
    How do mirages on the field work?:

    Mirages only apply to the space where they are placed. 

    When in combat, the two situations are: 
    1)A creature attacks a creature on a mirage. Then that affect will effect both the engaged creatures
    2)A creature on a mirage attacks a creature. The attacking creature has in effect moved off of the mirage space. Therefore it doesn't apply to that creature.
    How do Bursts Work:

    First of all, you cannot play more than one attack in the same burst in which you played an attack. Nor can the opponent attack while you are attacking. One attack per attack burst, and only by the player who is currently allowed to play an attack card.

    As for the attack burst itself, this is how it goes:
    1. Player A draws a card from their Attack Deck and plays an attack card.
    2. Abilities that trigger when that player's engaged creature would play an attack card trigger now (e.g "Recklessness X").
    3. Player A is then given the opportunity to add a Mugic or activated ability to the Burst, or to pass priority to their opponent.
    4. After Player A has played a Mugic or ability or passed priority, Player B is given the opportunity to play a Mugic or activated ability, or pass. This exchange will continue between players until neither player chooses to add a Mugic or ability to the burst.
    5. When neither player adds anything to the burst, it resolves in reverse order of what was added to the burst: the last Mugic or ability on the burst will resolve first, then continue down until the attack card played resolves last.
    6. Player B now begins from Step 1.


    Last edited by Marrillian on Sat Dec 24, 2016 4:02 pm; edited 2 times in total
    avatar
    mlreece
    newb

    Chaotic Username : Fluidmorpher
    Chaotic Coins : 8

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by mlreece on Sat Apr 02, 2016 12:54 am

    Can a creature use their ability more than once per turn if they have enough counters to do so?
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 890
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Sat Apr 02, 2016 1:15 am

    Most of the time yes any activated ability can be played as often as you like as long as you can pay the costs. Certain abilities specifically say they can only be used once per turn for example Nivenna's. Those abilities obviously can only be used once per turn but abilities that don't say that can be used multiple times as long as you can pay them.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?
    avatar
    mlreece
    newb

    Chaotic Username : Fluidmorpher
    Chaotic Coins : 8

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by mlreece on Sat Apr 02, 2016 1:20 am

    ok lets say a location states that all attacks count as water attack for example storm tunnel and your creature has water 5 and they play an attack that originally wasnt a water attack but thanks to the location it now is. do you get the added effects of water 5 since that attack is now a water attack?
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 890
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Sat Apr 02, 2016 1:36 am

    water 5 increases all water attack damage by 5.

    water attack damage is any damage on a water attack that is played by a creature who has water.

    since all attacks are water attacks at storm tunnel kirbo's foothold if your creature has water then that attack will deal an additional 5 damage.

    short answer yes every attack will be affected by water 5 IF you have water


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?
    avatar
    mlreece
    newb

    Chaotic Username : Fluidmorpher
    Chaotic Coins : 8

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by mlreece on Sat Apr 02, 2016 11:04 pm

    During combat can non-engaged creatures play their abilities?
    avatar
    bobosmith01
    Super Rare

    Chaotic Username : Alexrayboy
    Chaotic Coins : 280
    Location : Maryland

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by bobosmith01 on Sun Apr 03, 2016 10:15 am

    Yep, unless it says otherwise. They can even target other non-engaged creatures. Though near all effects dissapear at the end of the turn (that means overall, not an attack).
    avatar
    mlreece
    newb

    Chaotic Username : Fluidmorpher
    Chaotic Coins : 8

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by mlreece on Sun Apr 03, 2016 5:11 pm

    ok my buddy had a few questions that he wanted me to ask.

    1. During combat can non-engaged creatures cast mugic?

    2. Can you start a burst when someone a player reveals a new location or declares an attack on a creature?

    3. Certain cards like maxxor and chaor have the loyal ability meaning they can only be in armies made up of only their own tribe. A game is underway and lets say you have an army of all overworlders including maxxor who has loyal, can a player play a mugic or ability that will either make a creature change tribes or count as another tribe while maxxor is in play.
    avatar
    bobosmith01
    Super Rare

    Chaotic Username : Alexrayboy
    Chaotic Coins : 280
    Location : Maryland

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by bobosmith01 on Sun Apr 03, 2016 6:22 pm

    1. Yes
    2. I have no idea. Anyone?
    3. I'm pretty sure there isn't any Mugic or ability that does that off the top of my head, other then a location (and I believe it doesn't actually change the tribe?) Reguardless, I'm fairly certain nothing happens, it's just the deck building where the loyalty and stuff matters.
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 890
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:16 pm

    1. what bobo said any creature can cast mugic during combat unless something says otherwise
    2. for when a location is face-up the answer is yes if the location has a triggered abilty like bodal's arsenal its starts a burst on its own which you can respond to by say sacing a gear. if it doesn't like say kiru city or if it does but you want to start a burst after the effect resolves you may start a burst after the location is revealed but before movement if you want by playing a mugic or ability.

    once movement has begun you can start a burst anytime in between movements, after the first movement, after the second movement ect. (keep in mind swift creatures move all their spaces in 1 movement) Combat is just moving 1 creature on to the space of an emeny creature and therefore once you let them move and they choose to move to that space combat begins and you have to wait till the start of combat to use effects. Defender is the only thing you can use after they have declared an attack until combat starts and defender is considered innate and therefore does not start a burst and cannot be responded too.

    so short answer you CAN cast mugic when the location is turned face up but you can't cast mugic when a creature attacks until combat starts (so no song of translocation to get away)

    3. the bold text on cards such as legendary loyal and unique are deckbuilding restrictions they matter only when building a deck they do nothing and don't matter in-game. chaor's team could all become overworlders by game effects and it would be just fine as long as they were all underworlders when you built the deck.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?
    avatar
    gerbot150
    Common

    Chaotic Username : greglymaster
    Chaotic Coins : 44

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by gerbot150 on Fri Apr 08, 2016 6:15 pm

    Does agitos' (turn of the tide) ability last longer than until the end of the turn?
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 890
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Fri Apr 08, 2016 6:21 pm

    any activated or triggered ability that does not state when it ends, ends at the end of the turn chaotic used to put this on every ability but since 99% of them end at the end of the turn they just made this rule to save space


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?
    avatar
    TheBasketball4
    newb

    Chaotic Username : TheBasketbal
    Chaotic Coins : 4

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by TheBasketball4 on Wed Apr 05, 2017 12:59 am

    Does the effect of a mugic card last the whole game or until the end of the turn?

    Also if a creature gains element X without having that element does it now also have that element?
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 890
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Wed Apr 05, 2017 2:08 am

    @TheBasketball4 wrote:Does the effect of a  mugic card last the whole game or until the end of the turn?

    Also if a creature gains element X without having that element does it now also have that element?

    Chaotic, Unlike some other games decided to remove the "until end of turn" clause from its cards because the vast majority of them end at the end of the turn so all cards printed after silent sands lack this text and it was instead built into the rules, here's a quick reference for when things end.

    Here are things that end at the end of turn
    1. effects caused my mugic
    2. effects caused by attacks
    3. effects caused by activated abilities
    4. effects caused by triggered abilities

    Things that DON'T end at end of turn
    1. innate effects
    2. effects tracked by counters or tokens (such as mugic counters or parasite tokens)
    3. effects that specifically state a different end time (like general's standard)


    for element X sorry no dice, if you don't have the element, gaining element X won't do anything for you, you'll need another effect to gain the element before you can put it to use. (see harmonics of water)


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?
    avatar
    TheBasketball4
    newb

    Chaotic Username : TheBasketbal
    Chaotic Coins : 4

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by TheBasketball4 on Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:10 pm

    Ok that is good to know! One more question I have is besides from battle gear that states to flip it up at beginning of the game and when you get into combat, when can you flip up battle gear?
    avatar
    Chiodosin1
    Ultra Rare

    Chaotic Username : Chiodosin1
    Chaotic Coins : 890
    Location : Minnesota, US

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by Chiodosin1 on Sat Apr 08, 2017 10:56 pm

    @TheBasketball4 wrote:Ok that is good to know! One more question I have is besides from battle gear that states to flip it up at beginning of the game and when you get into combat, when can you flip up battle gear?

    If a Battlegear says to reveal it at the beginning of the game then do so at the same time you reveal all your creatures. Otherwise, battlegear is flipped face up when the equipped creature enters combat. Other effects can also flip battlegear such as Garv but those are the 2 main ways.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Whoa  Water Element you doing?
    You need to  Air Element out.
    Just because you were  Fire Element d doesn't mean you get to be mean.
    I mean is it even w Earth Element it?

    Sponsored content

    Re: Common Rule Questions

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Sun Jun 25, 2017 2:04 am