Chaotic Backup Forum

Show your support. Boost our moral. Don't just browse, log in.

King's Royal Chaotic Backup


    Abilities by Card Name (ANSWERED)

    Share
    avatar
    Oracle Afjak
    Rare

    Chaotic Username : Afjak∞
    Chaotic Coins : 207
    Location : Dranakis Threshold

    Abilities by Card Name (ANSWERED)

    Post by Oracle Afjak on Sun Sep 07, 2014 2:36 pm


    So I've been having an argument with a friend over certain sets of abilities. Some abilities like Dror'niq the Rabid Shark work by card name instead of "this card" or whatever. The thing about this card is that it just says Dror'niq, not that it has to be the one that's engaged. Obviously it wouldn't extend to opposing Creatures of the same name, but if a player controls 2 copies of Dror'niq and one is engaged, would the unengaged Dror'niq be able to spend only 1 counter to help the engaged one since it's also named Dror'niq, or would he still need to spend 4?


    Oh yeah, we've been having a similar debate over whether having 2 copies of Kiru would make each Kiru gain 10 energy and other Creatures gain 20 energy for each Leadership counter among them (stacking by cardname).


    Last edited by Afjak∞ on Sun Sep 07, 2014 5:04 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Closed)


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    avatar
    Blitser
    Marrillian

    Chaotic Username : Blitser
    Chaotic Coins : 422
    Location : At the office.

    Re: Abilities by Card Name (ANSWERED)

    Post by Blitser on Sun Sep 07, 2014 3:36 pm

    Any card which has that trait can only use its abilities for itself specifically. This is section 3.1.1.1 of the comprehensive rules.

    -------------------------

    3.1.1.1. Any time a card refers to its own name in its game text, it means that card itself.
    Example: Lomma has the ability “The first attack against Lomma each combat deals 10 less damage.”
    Even if a player had a second copy of Lomma in play, each ability would only affect the creature it is printed on.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====
    Blitser
    Grand Master of the Grapefruit Brigade

    • Here for a visit? Come say hi to everyone in this topic!
    • Got a question that you want answered? The forum staff are here for any and all Chaotic inquiries!
    • Do you have an idea to help improve upon the forums? Share it here!
    • Interested in a Chaotic TeamSpeak? Post here!
    avatar
    Oracle Afjak
    Rare

    Chaotic Username : Afjak∞
    Chaotic Coins : 207
    Location : Dranakis Threshold

    Re: Abilities by Card Name (ANSWERED)

    Post by Oracle Afjak on Sun Sep 07, 2014 3:49 pm

    Good. Then the double Kiru can't be exploited.


    ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== ===== =====

    Sponsored content

    Re: Abilities by Card Name (ANSWERED)

    Post by Sponsored content


      Current date/time is Tue Nov 21, 2017 4:27 pm